Please login or register

Scenario Design and Modding
Moderated by Suppiluliuma, PhatFish, Fisk, Epd999

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Strange black line
posted 12-31-01 02:26 PM ET (US)   

I was experimenting on a blank large map with a text editor a few weeks ago, I got some strange results like black tiles allover the map. The most use full thing I got was a black line of tiles going across the map. If any one has an idea please post.

here is a savegame of the scenario

Replies:
posted 01-01-02 09:26 AM ET (US)     1 / 7  
I haven't looked at your saved game and I'm not a programmer - but the black holes sound as if some data were missing on the map. Did you delete or copy/paste anything in the text editor? That might explain for it.

Happy New Year, btw.

Ingo

posted 01-01-02 10:31 PM ET (US)     2 / 7  
I had no idea what I was doing when I got these black tiles but I was comparing a large blank grass map and a large black deepwater map and removing and changing some things. Anyway this seems to lots of map design potential, I'm working on a campaign in TC but I am planing on doing at lest one more campaign in AoE before I move on to EE. Here is an another screen and scenario. The first scenario would crash sometimes so I posted a savegame that seems to work better. You will have to copy the location of the screen shots and scenarios and paste them into your browser.

posted 01-03-02 03:37 PM ET (US)     3 / 7  
Hey Stephen,

I just clicked on the link, but it said "page not available". Anyhow, I'm not sure if the black holes are a good idea to use in a scenario - I bet other people will have crashes, too. You might spend a lot of time on a scenario that might not even run properly in the end.

I had a little black hole in two of my Age of Kings maps, and it ruined the maps for good. Whenever the screen view was on that black hole, my computer froze. I never figured out why it happened.

Ingo