Please login or register

Modding Discussions
Moderated by Alexastor, MosheLevi, Mister SCP

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Player colour at units
posted 03-09-09 11:06 AM EDT (US)   
I think it's a noob question... but I made a texture and the unit appears in the editor but now I don't know how to create the player colour in the texture.

Sorry if that's in the modding tutorials but I found nothing
Replies:
posted 03-09-09 11:14 AM EDT (US)     1 / 15  
I'm no gfx expert - but afaik the player color is inserted in tga's alpha channel.
Else wait for the gfx artists for reply.
Certainly you could make own experiments: learning by doing
posted 03-09-09 11:18 AM EDT (US)     2 / 15  
I tried to delete the colour there but it didn't work -.-
posted 03-09-09 11:25 AM EDT (US)     3 / 15  
No clue what went wrong at yours. In all cases you must regard some specialities in tga dimensions and file notation ... read here
posted 03-09-09 02:41 PM EDT (US)     4 / 15  
I read that reply 5 times I think. My problem is that I drawed a texture of a unit and then I stopped the player colour. I tried to delete the colour there but then the unit was at theese places only black. I changed the texture of a longbow there you needn't to change the (n,n,n,n).tga code (I think ).

EDIT: Sorry, I hate Gimp so I used Paint.NET because I used it for other things,too. But that was the problem. I delete the textures at theese places with gimp and now it works... -.-

[This message has been edited by Sir_Hans (edited 03-09-2009 @ 02:58 PM).]

posted 03-09-09 03:31 PM EDT (US)     5 / 15  
You need to create a 'separate texture inside the texture'. Actually it's another layer, the Alpha channel. I don't know if Paint.NET supports layering. GIMP and PS does. You don't need to change the textur itself, only the channel. Black parts playercolour, white parts normal colour texture. That's it.