You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Strategy Central

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: French Defensive Boom
posted 11-22-05 09:01 PM EDT (US)   
I've been looking for a French Strat for a long time and never seemed to find one that fits, so I said to myself "Why don't you stop trying to freeload off others and write your own darn strat!" So I did... This is my first try at ever writing a strat so if it sucks give me some tips to make it better. I know it doesn't work on every single map against every single civ but it's a pretty good base strat. Here goes nothing...

Discovery Age

I tried to keep it simple in discovery seeing as players of any level can get to colonial at a decent time (well, most of them ) but I laid down a few base laws.

-Explore the map & collect tresures (go figure)

-7 to 8 Courers on food

-3 to 4 on wood

-You should recieve a shipment just as you have the resources to age up. Use the highest Courer card you have and put them on whatever you need (guidelines above)

-Age up when you recieve the resources

Transition

-Build Market and Research techs as the resources come

Colonial Age

-Always pump out Courers (this is the key to any boom strat) and spread the to all resources.

-All wood colected goes to 1 barracks, houses, and towers (towers being very impotant for anti-rush support)

-Remember just because you french dosen't mean your un-rushable (thus the towers) always expect the worst!

-unless you are rushed simply get your troops from cards for added defense (your barracks is just an extra precaution!)

-If you are rushed make a hand full of troops from you barracks to fend it off (this will slow your boom but after the initial attack you should have proper defense!)

-Focus on the resources to advance (food & gold, we're going for a fast fortress)