Please login or register

Strategy Central

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Ottoman DePorter
posted 07-21-06 02:04 AM EDT (US)   
Hello all

Though I'm a very new Ottoman player, I have made up something that might interest you. It is a new strat, and still under testing... so any comments would be appreciated. I have used it and beaten good players and since some people asked me to post it...

WTH is that thing?

Ottoman DePorter (any similarity is just coincidence) is a strat that I have made thinking in ways to beat Portugal with Ottomans (duh). It seems that rushing doesn't work really well, so the only viable strats most of the time are FIs or FFs (The last one also doesn't work so well). Though I have little experience with Ottomans I can say that I know something about Portugal, so I think it deserves some credit

So what should we do?

The main objective is to explore your enemy weakness. It was made thinking in ways to beat Portugal, so I have made it thinking in Portugal weakness (yes, they have them too) but it may also work against other civs. But which are Portugal weakness? The most important of them is the great ammount of food needed to supply their army/economy - they can't power it through Settler shipments so constant Settler production is a must to don't fall behind your enemy.

Other one is the high effect that any kind of pressure has over Portugal. You may think that those damn TCs will just own your army - but to make them shoot, they need to have idle Settlers inside. So, if one of the things so feared about Portugal are their TC power, it means they do garrison a lot, uh?

And, my favorite one: Total lack of Siege Artillery.

Needed Cards:

• 3 Settlers
  • 700 Gold
  • 700 Wood
  • 1000 Wood
  • Fort

Important Cards:

• 8 Janissaries
  • 5 Abus
  • 2 Falconets
  • 5 Spahi
  • 3 Spahi
  • 1000 Food
  • 2 Factories

The Build Order:

Discovery Age: