You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

General and Strategy Discussions
Moderated by Maffia, LordKivlov, JimXIX

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: ES Dev. Chat Log - 8/24/2005 with Greg Street (ES_DeathShrimp)
« Previous Page  1 2 3  Next Page »
posted 08-24-05 08:39 PM EDT (US)   
<HG_Zen> So, without further ado...
<...> DeathShrimp, can you tell us a bit about yourself?
<ES_DeathShrimp> I'm Greg Street. I'm a Libra and I like long walks on the beach.
<HG_Socvazius> ...so we can better stalk you.
<...> yum
<HG_Zen> Soccy, that's just wrong
<...> hehe
<ES_DeathShrimp> I'm the lead designer of AOE3. I've been working at ES for about 500 years.
<HG_Zen> caption - you're up
<...> *captain
<...> K... looks like he's gone away for the moment.
<...> Juan, you're up
<juanrodriguez> I my self will be a Spanish player and I wanted to know how playing as the spanish will benifit me.?
<ES_DeathShrimp> As probably most of you know, the Spanish earn Shipments about 30% faster than other civs.
<...> This means they can have a strong early economy by sending Settlers or Crates.
<...> Or a strong early military by sending over soldiers.
<...> They have the strongest hand infantry in the game and decent cavalry.
<...> They also have War Dogs, which are good at clearing out Treasure guardians.
<...> When the designers play Spanish we always shout "GARROCHISTA!" at each other, because that's the RG Lancer's name.
<HG_Zen> Cool... thanks.
<...> Juan - got another question?
<juanrodriguez> I was also wondering if you can explain the city level system to me in depth?
<ES_DeathShrimp> "In depth" might take some time.
<HG_Zen> hehe
<juanrodriguez> well maybe how it works
<ES_DeathShrimp> Cities gain levels periodically.
<...> To get from 1st to 2nd level, you need 5000 Experience Points.
<...> You earn about 10,000 XP in a game, though it can be a lot lower and higher.