General and Strategy Discussions
Moderated by Maffia, JimXIX

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Portugal or British in .08
« Previous Page  1 2 3  Next Page »
posted 07-25-06 09:00 PM EDT (US)   
Whats up gentelemen i just started playing again about 2 weeks ago. Portugal convinced me to start playing again considering i never played them before and they r nasty in 1.07.

Anyways 1.08 changes sound interesting. I think people are making too much of a big deal about lbows. Yes the 1.5 to ranged cavalry is nice, but honestly 9 times out of 10 im attacking lbows with hand cavalry or artillery. Nothing is going to effect the Portugese FF, one can still hit fort at 7:30 with 6 cassas and then send 2 oguns to negate brit lbows.

Mamelukes absouletly destroy grenaiders and lbows, which are the units brit is gonna make if he is trying to kill you in colonial. I always send Colonial Militia to help against any pre 7 min attack.

Dont get me wrong British ONLY benefit from this patch unlike other civs, but i still see them having problems with Portugal reguardless. Lower TC hitpoints hurts but not really considering Portugal will have 3 in less than 8 mins.

"Were surrounded.........this simplifies things." - Chesty Puller USMC 1950

"Let your plans be dark and as impenatrable as night, and when you move, fall like a lightning-bolt." - Sun Tzu
Replies:
posted 07-27-06 02:06 PM EDT (US)     26 / 72  

Quote:

Hmm rockets, yea not available until age4. Most civs won't let you get that far, at least without damaging you. And longbows are great, but you really need some anti cav for lancers or cuirs or other heavy cav or falcs. So Britain may actually have a chance in age2 and age3 without needing to boom all the way first.