Please login or register

Strategy and General Discussion
Moderated by Yeebaagooon, nottud

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Any tips for Loki v Ra?
posted 28 June 2005 01:52 PM EDT (US)   
I am new to AOM and while I can manage Greeks v Greeks, Greeks v Egyptians and Norse v Greeks, I cannot get anywhere when I play Norse v Egyptians.

Typically, I build a enough villagers to gather food, chop wood and gather gold and many soldiers at the beginning and rush the Egyptians but it hasn't worked. I go for killing the villagers and disrupting the economy in other ways by destroying houses and other buildings ... all to no avail.

I tried concentrating just enough to build a temple and a few heroes to give more impetus to the rush, but it hasn't worked, either.

I thought a rush would be the best policy because when the Egyptians build up, I find the elephants to be in particular very tough to beat.

Obviously, though, my rush policy isn't working. Any suggestions?

---
Celine

Replies:
posted 28 June 2005 03:09 PM EDT (US)     1 / 8  
Gold starve. Eggy is very dependant upon gold. Don't rush, eggy is very hard to rush with their free tower whoring. Scout out the mines around their base, (possibly build a house there) and raid their gold and any hunting outside of their base. Keep them contained and deny them gold. This will delay their heroic time. If the eggy has more than one gold mine within TC range, GG.
posted 28 June 2005 04:18 PM EDT (US)     2 / 8  
I'm not much of a loki player but my best advice is gold starving by always watching the gold mines and remembering that pretty much only heroic units can beat eggy units.
Use ulfsarks with the swine array upgrade from bragi to deal with elephants if you ever meet them.

In mythic you'll want to train as many Fire giants as you can becaue they are very effective.

Nick: Eten.
Gods: All of them!
Vanilla.
posted 28 June 2005 04:44 PM EDT (US)     3 / 8