Please login or register

Strategy Discussion

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: eggy building guide
posted 17 March 2004 04:00 PM EDT (US)   
eggy building guide

this is my first time posting any kind of strat topic, but ill try 'n make it interesting.

alot of people are making unit guides, or god strats, but i havent seen one building plan yet. I play isis, and i cant say im an amazing player, but im not stupid, and ive had a few good ideas in my time .

when i first started, i went straight to eggy, with one of the first things i noticed being the free buildings. early on people told me to surround my towers with houses for protection, and that was fine for a while....

While being whooped by some better isis players, i started to notice how they built other buildings around their towers for protection, and this got me thinking. I first saw neptune_vince (vince_z) use a temple, two houses and the villiger monument to surround one of his forward towers, allowing him to surround the other towers with houses and other buildings, but also (as he was playing isis too) to protect his tower from that nasty undermine gp.

by adding to this, you can decrease the surface area of youre "agressive" buildings, even limiting them to being attacked by ranged weapons (which is nice untill mythic).
as an example, i have created a small town with some complex and relatively simple building designs:

simple:

note the monument to protect from gp's and tower in the middle

complex:

cant see the pic?

note how the buildings are curved around the resource for protection, with the mining camp protecting the tower as well. all the buildings which produce units have some open surface area, so all can still be used.

with a proper plan, you can create well protected passages, making walls useless, eg:

if you cant see the pic, then clicky