You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Strategy Discussion

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: My guide to how I got to 1800+ (in Vanilla AoM)
posted 10 August 2004 08:35 AM EDT (US)   
***The topic name got screwed up. Don't know why. It shall be My "guide" to how I got to 1800+ (in Vanilla AoM). Is it possible for forum administrators to edit the topic name?***

***This is not a regular guide. I'm not an expert like other guide authors in this forum pretend to be. This topic is more about how I did to get better on AoM and my personal opinions. And maybe this is crap, but I hope at least someone can use it to get better.***

***Although I've only played Vanilla AoM, this "guide" contains no specific strategies for the update nor the original game. It's just guidelines I think shall apply on how to get better in both games.***

--------

About a little more than a year ago, I started playing Age of Mythology on ESO. Starting out rated 1600, with some old strategies from Age of Kings and AoM experience only against the computer AI, I had my first rated game on ESO. Maybe I won, maybe I lost, I don't remember, but what I do know is that the first weeks I never climbed past 1650 or so. So to improve, I did a search on Google for "age of mythology +strategies", something like that. I found Age of Mythology Heaven, a newbie guide and the strategy forum.

With the help of the guides on the forum, I got better and eventually reached the 1700-level. When one 1790-rated player lost the connection in a game he was winning, I remember I got up to 1780 something. But that was it. I couldn't make it any further, lost some games and became a 1650-1730-player. I tried different civilizations and printed out and read every guide I found. I watched top players recorded games and tried different build orders. BUT I DID NOT GET BETTER.