Halls of Valhalla
Moderated by Yeebaagooon

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Member of the Month: April 2008
« Previous Page  1 2  Next Page »
posted 27 April 2008 07:47 PM EDT (US)   
This month, the award goes to the famed GD member DeathAndPain! DeathAndPain is known for his encyclopedic answers and knowledgability about AoM and other technical difficulties. I thought it would be great to get to know a bit more about him!

AoMH: Welcome to this month's Member of the Month Interview, DeathAndPain. Most people probably know you for your encyclopedic answers, but there's always more to a forummer than what he types. Let's hear more about you as a person.

DeathAndPain: Well, I am a 35-year-old systems administrator, living in a flat in Berlin with my girlfriend. I also have a kid, but that is with my ex, from whom I am currently divorced. He is also living with her. My hobbies are comprised of computer games as well as astrology and esoterics in general. Sports-wise, I like to ballroom dance or play table tennis. I occasionally play chess. So far, I have encountered one guy on the German chess server who correctly guessed who the real player "DaP" was. Most people there have no idea for obvious reasons.

AoMH: So where did you get the name "DeathAndPain" from?

DeathAndPain: I chose it a very long time ago, and decided to stick with it. It was my nick back on StarCraft, easily 10 years ago. I then joined a German StarCraft clan, in which I was known as [57th]Death. When I'm not in a clan, which is most of time, I stick with DeathAndPain. I believe a nickname is an identity. You should choose it carefully and not change it like your shirt, as some other people do.

AoMH: That's an interesting philosophy, I'm inclined to agree with you.

DeathAndPain: I have played StarCraft since v 1.00, and the same goes for AoM. I will most likely continue that way with StarCraft 2.

AoMH: Did you get started with RTS games with StarCraft?