You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Modding and Scripting
Moderated by Yeebaagooon, nottud

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: A Beginner’s Guide to Modeling With 3ds Max and ABE
posted 11 February 2014 11:26 AM EDT (US)   
Welcome!

In this tutorial, we will be putting a teapot into AoM. That’s right; a massive checkered teapot, complete with player color, animation and attachpoints. The tutorial has plenty of pretty pictures (click to expand) and is aimed at absolute beginners – with AMP anyone can make model mods for AoM. I have updated this guide to cover both the Steam version and the old-school version of the game.

Required software (follow installation instructions)

• 3ds Max: This is the actual modeling program. It’s almost the same as Gmax, which some of you may be familiar with. You can get 3ds Max for free if you are a secondary school or college/university student. 3ds Max 2016 is recommended and used for this tutorial, but older versions should work, too (at least to 3ds Max 2013).
  • AMP by Tasev (previously called ABE): This little gem converts your models into AoM’s file format. Download here. Make sure you always have the latest version (I’m using 7.0 for this tutorial).
  • The supplemental files for this guide that I posted here.

Let’s go. During the process, save your .MAX files often.

Creating the teapot

Let’s start by creating the actual model. Open 3ds Max (hereafter referred to as “Max”). Close the welcome screen (although it won’t hurt to do some of the tutorials to familiarize yourself with the program). On the right-hand side of the screen, click “Teapot”. Expand “Keyboard Entry” and enter 2 as the radius. Click “Create”. (In case you were wondering, Max’s developer has a teapot in their logo, hence it is included in this menu). (Picture)