Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: A complete guide to creating websites
« Previous Page  1 2 3  Next Page »
posted 03 April 2011 09:55 AM EDT (US)   

The Complete Guide to Creating Websites

By Guard of Olympus

This is a thread dedicated to a turoial I am writing. It'll contain 25 parts that are all divided into posts. You can find the table of contents further down...
I don't know if there's a large intrest for this, but anyways, enjoy!

Intro One: Introduction

What is this?

This is a tutorial intended for the absolute beginner and it will teach you how to create a fully functioning website using modern standards such as HTML, CSS, Javascript and in the end we'll implement our website into a CMS making it easy to update.

Why are you doing this?

I thought it'd be cool to do a tutorial on making websites because so few know how to create a nice site even though it's very simple. I've also been thinking about creating a blog and I'll be able to post this tutorial as content on that blog. I also think people from these forums can benefit from learning these things, it might also generate some more activity here on the forums which I guess would be nice.

How many parts will you write?

I've planned to write 25 parts, one or two a week so it'll take quite a lot of time to finish, but it'll be great to try out this project.

Do you need any help?

Yes, I'd like some help with a couple of things:

• Spellchecking - I'm not natively english

• Feedback - If something's confusing or wrong, please tell me about it

T A B L E   O F   C O N T E N T S

0. Introduction
0.1 Tools
1. The basics of html
2. Basic html elements
3. Layout elements
4. Understanding layout elements and where they are to be placed
5. CSS syntax
6. Why you should use css
7. Styling properities
8. Creating a mockup
9. Creating the basic website and design - Typography, margins, padding and colour.
10. Other css resources
11. Beginning with javascript