You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

AoW1 Play By Email (Turn Logs)
Moderated by Enginerd, Ziggurat Mason

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Age of Wonders Email Wrapper: Autosend working through GMail / AOL / Hotmail / Yahoo etc
« Previous Page  1 2 3  Next Page »
posted 12-08-10 08:42 AM EDT (US)   
Download:

Hello everyone;
This is my first post on this forum. I've been playing this game (AoW 1) on and off for about ten years now, it's never worn off for me.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, an old friend of mine and I were talking about it and he gave me the idea to write this program. It's currently in BETA test and I am looking for people to volunteer to help test it. It's also going to be free and will have no annoying adverts or any rubbish.

I am sure everyone is aware of how fiddly it can be to get Age of Wonders to auto send emails correctly, especially nowadays it is quite common for SMTP servers to use SSL or sending authentication. It is also quite common for people to rent a house where the landlord provides the internet access and tenants don’t have access to create email accounts directly from the ISP they’re on. So, here we have the solution; the Age of Wonders Email Wrapper.

The program is a .Net windows app that pretends to be a lightweight SMTP server that the game understands, you just point the game at the local loop back IP address or 'localhost' and Autosend your emails. It takes the game email in and then sends it on via Google or whatever and using SSL if necessary. It also downloads emails too, it has periodic polling system. Currently only over IMAP, but I am going to add POP3 support too. So it takes all the pain away from messing about with drop downs, browsing to folders etc which you would usually have to do with manual email sending.