Please login or register

Technical Forum
Moderated by Jayhawk

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Emperor/Pharoah conflict
posted 09-13-03 23:25 ET (US)   
I've been playing emperor for a few months now. I got pharoah today to try it out. I noticed when I installed it it uninstalled something...I assumed it was the demo. But now I can't play Emperor. It removed part of it...like the exe. The saved games were still there so I moved them and tried to reinstall Emperor. It pops up an unistall confirmation too. Once I click ok it starts removing Pharoah. If I cancel it it just stops. Anyone else seen this? I'm running Winxp pro.
Replies:
posted 09-14-03 03:22 ET (US)     1 / 11  
Hi Frostbyte

I have an idea there can be a problem with Emperor & Pharaoh if P's part of the Great Empires bundle ... but I'm not sure, so I'll move this to tech help where someone should be able to help you.

posted 09-14-03 04:35 ET (US)     2 / 11  
If your version of Pharaoh comes from the Great Empires Collection II, this is a known problem. A workaround by one of the moderators on the Sierra forum is the following:

Quoted from Keith Heitmann:

There is an installation conflict between the US version of Emperor: Rise of the Middle Kingdom and the US Pharaoh gold disk in Sierra's Great Empires Collection II. This describes the easiest way to work around this problem.

1. Install either Emperor or Pharaoh Gold (either one is fine, the order is not important)
2. Find the directory entitled "C:\Program Files\InstallShield Installation Information". There should be a file folder named as follows in that folder: "{821DABD6-26F2-49E5-AE55-40A589ADBE6D}"
3. If Emperor is installed, rename this file to "Emperor{821DABD6-26F2-49E5-AE55-40A589ADBE6D}" by adding "Emperor" tothe beginning of the file name.
4. If Pharaoh is installed, rename this file to "Pharaoh{821DABD6-26F2-49E5-AE55-40A589ADBE6D}" by adding "Pharaoh" to the beginning of the file name.