Please login or register

RTW Guides and Articles Forum
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair, General Sajaru, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: The Total Noob's Guide to Basic Multiplayer-2015
posted 29 September 2015 22:53 EDT (US)   
3-4 years ago, as a young, enthusiastic general, I sought to prove myself against others at Rome: Total War. Of course, this led me to contemplate trying out the online battles feature of the game. First, though, I had to research what some of the best strategies and tactics were. This started with a simple google search along the lines of "RTW multiplayer strategy". Soon enough, I was greeted with the homepage of RTW Heaven.

After looking around, I settled in to reading guides posted by members like Cheesewiz and Ace Cataphract. But after a few articles, the only one that offered any kind of guidance or advice to new players was the Ueriah Doctrine. However, after a few years of online battles, I have realised that it is obsolete.This article seeks to replace the Ueriah Doctrine as the newer, more relevant guide for new players to the multiplayer aspect of Rome: Total War.

Over the course of literally a decade, the multiplayer scene has evolved to where it is today. As for my credibility, I am reasonably well known in the 31K community, have beaten some big name youtubers and players at the game and participated in a few tournaments (with little success, but still). So without further ado, I shall provide 3 "golden rules" for new players to adhere to as well as some other important notes that I think will be beneficial to new players.

Rule 1: Always Spend as Much Money as Possible