Rome: Total War Discussion
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair, General Sajaru, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: im a newbie
posted 03 December 2005 14:15 EDT (US)   
hello all

i been a big fan of the total war games and loved the first two but i have only just got rome total war and i must say im amazed. at first i was not to sure about the new look but it much better after spend a solid week playing it. i really do think the chaps have done a great job on it. i not installed the add on yet as i wanted to play the game how it was released . the 1st two i completed in a short time but there games you can keep playing again, with rome total war i think it will take a very long time as i been playig a week and only have 19 cities and just about managing to hold on to my outer rim ones.

i do i have a questions i would like to ask.

1: i keep losing my armies to enemy diplomats bribing them and my assasins always fail to kill them they always seem to have 10% chance of killing the buggers. whats the best way of training my assasins up or gaining enough xp. also can i xp my diplomats up as i find it hard to get a citie to surrender to me and the senate asks.

thx guys

Replies:
posted 03 December 2005 16:21 EDT (US)     1 / 16  
Diplomats gain experience with negotiations. I suppose succesful negotiations (AI accepts your offer) would be better, but I've seen my diplomats gain experience even after failing negotiations, so I'm not sure.

And if the senate is asking you to make someone a protectorate, don't bother. It's very hard to do and you'd better just wipe them out instead. The mission will be canceled and you suffer no consequences.

Some people claim that keeping a diplomat in your army or city will prevent it from getting bribed. At the very least it will make it harder to bribe (diplomats can be quite expensive to bribe, especially experienced ones).