Please login or register

Rome Strategy Discussion
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair, General Sajaru, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: newbie help
posted 14 November 2005 19:02 EDT (US)   
i am really embarrassed about asking this because i am a vet at playing rise of nations. i also realize that this will be nothing like that [right]? here it goes

#1- i have been thinking about getting rtw but i'm un sure if i should. please enlighten me.

#2- i have been thinking about playing as the brits but am unsure how well they will hold up in open field battle. will they? if not then who? i like to be sneaky but still kick %ss. will that help?

#3- i've been thinking of some strats and tacs for the british. tell me if they are good. head hurlers go hid in the forest. as well as most of my calvery. make my camp right next to the forest.skirmishers traVEL THROUGH THE FOREST AND AMBUSH THE ENEMY. i then attack with my main force and flank them from behind with my calvery that traveled through the forest. they would have already been weakened with my raid then i should win. right?

another one is for the map with that big mound in the centre. calvery rushes foward to gain the mound. followed by missile troops and some heavy infantry. then i swoop around with my main force ambush the enemy. then they will retreat and they will be pincered by my mound force. then they get killed. hopefully.

are they any good? or am i just making a comparrin of old tactics?please reply.

Replies:
posted 15 November 2005 02:57 EDT (US)     1 / 14  
#1 You ask on a RTW fan forum wheteher you should get RTW? You know the answer...

#2 I suggest you stard playing as the Romans, en when you've finished, or had enough of that campaign, you might want to play some custom battles, to see what kind of units and factions you like.