You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Rome Strategy Discussion
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair, General Sajaru, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Seleucids: Favorite Army Compositions?
posted 19 November 2005 07:25 EDT (US)   
I'm new to the Seleucids and I could use some tips for putting together a winning army composition and strategy. Specifically, I'd like to know how to make the Pikemen and Legionnaires work together in the best possible manner.

Do you use the Pikemen as a strong centerline and the Legionnaires as flankers, like many Germania players do with Spear Warbands and Chosen Axemen?

P........P
LPPPPPL

Do you make a centerline of Legionnaires and set up a meatgrinder of Pikemen on the flanks?

PPLLLLLPP

Do you keep it 50/50, with a line of Pikemen up front, and a second line of Legionnaires right behind them, making it impossible for enemy cavalry to surround them and easy to maneuver the Legionnaires into gaps as needed?

PPPPPP
LLLLLL

I'd love to use an army that really takes advantage of the combo-power of the Seleucids since I prefer armies that take advantage of the strength of each civilization rather than having more transferable strategies which work with a zillion civilzations, but I must admit I have a hard time coming up anything viable for the Seleucids.

So far this is my best attempt, but I'm far from happy with it.

3 Pikemen
3 Legionnaires
2 Archers
3 Onagers
3 Cataphracts
3 Chariots
3 Armored Elephants