Roman Pila Storm

By Ace_Cataphract

I was recently wondering to myself what is the Roman Legionary class infantry’s strength. Is it their impressive armor ratings – No, factions like Carthage and Greece have infantry with similar ratings that get torn apart. Is it only because of the fact that they can be invulnerable to missiles in a pinch – no, they get tired to death while in the testudo formation. Could it be because they use their missile attack for melee – well yea, I guess that’s a large part of it. But then I realized. This can’t be the only thing that makes Legionary infantry as amazing as it is. Then I looked to the root. It’s the pila. With them, Roman infantry can cripple a charge from the enemy, basically obliterate phalanxes, due to their slow speed, when advancing to attack and mess up any oncoming formation. Then I started playing a while, and realized that I wasn’t getting the most out of my pila. It became apparent to me after getting my front line charged by a mess of barbarians on multiplayer. Sure the last rank got it, but the first rank basically didn’t do anything. They couldn’t even throw their pila in time. I then decided that I had to find a way to get the most of out these devastating weapons.

I decided to go for a mix between Marius’ reformed, cohort based Legion and the original Mandipular Legion.

Composition: