Pharaoh: Game Help
Moderated by VitruviusAIA, Gweilo

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Keeping Up With The Hoteps
« Previous Page  1 2 3 ··· 5  Next Page »
posted 04-26-20 17:33 ET (US)   
Just uploaded a new mission to the download section.

http://pharaoh.heavengames.com/downloads/showfile.php?fileid=1395

Figured I'd mention it here since those don't come around very often these days.

I've been playing this game off and on for 20 years, but have never tried my hand at designing a custom map until a week or so ago. It's the first mission I have ever made. I'm pretty pleased with it.

I generally find it very easy to make money in these games. Most of the time I am rolling in Denarii/Debens/Drachma/Cash by the end of Year 3, if not sooner. So I wanted to make a map that would challenge my ability to make money by heavily restricting the exports I could make with my own raw materials.

I also enjoy trying to develop robust distribution networks on obnoxious terrain, so I made sure that the map had some pretty obnoxious terrain challenges.

I didn't do any Deep Design or anything. I didn't look up any charts, didn't run any spreadsheets to determine how much food I'd need to feed my target population. I just kinda eyeballed it based on 20 years experience playing these games and gave it my best guess.

There were a few speed bumps. I discovered after nearly 100 game years that I'd set the target Culture Rating too high to be achieved with the available buildings.

<cue Sad Trombone sound effect>

Overall, though, I think I succeeded in my design goals.

I corrected the Culture Rating requirement and made a few other very minor revisions to make the mission slightly less frustrating, and that is the mission which has been uploaded to the site.

It has been a very educational experience. I learned a few things even I didn't know. (Such as: You can't make a lake with fish in it.) If you give it a whirl, let me know what you think.