General and Strategy Discussions
Moderated by Maffia, JimXIX

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Portugal or British in .08
« Previous Page  1 2 3  Next Page »
posted 07-25-06 09:00 PM EDT (US)   
Whats up gentelemen i just started playing again about 2 weeks ago. Portugal convinced me to start playing again considering i never played them before and they r nasty in 1.07.

Anyways 1.08 changes sound interesting. I think people are making too much of a big deal about lbows. Yes the 1.5 to ranged cavalry is nice, but honestly 9 times out of 10 im attacking lbows with hand cavalry or artillery. Nothing is going to effect the Portugese FF, one can still hit fort at 7:30 with 6 cassas and then send 2 oguns to negate brit lbows.

Mamelukes absouletly destroy grenaiders and lbows, which are the units brit is gonna make if he is trying to kill you in colonial. I always send Colonial Militia to help against any pre 7 min attack.

Dont get me wrong British ONLY benefit from this patch unlike other civs, but i still see them having problems with Portugal reguardless. Lower TC hitpoints hurts but not really considering Portugal will have 3 in less than 8 mins.

"Were surrounded.........this simplifies things." - Chesty Puller USMC 1950

"Let your plans be dark and as impenatrable as night, and when you move, fall like a lightning-bolt." - Sun Tzu
Replies:
posted 07-29-06 02:45 PM EDT (US)     51 / 72  
imo id be brits in 1.08. They are more fun to play.

Also

Manors/estates > extra tcs

lbow >casadores

Falcs > organ guys

Also ports imo are boring to play and the only reason i played them was for ronin. ...

Anyways jus remember this was all in my opinion.

posted 07-29-06 03:33 PM EDT (US)     52 / 72  
Manors/estates > extra tcs > banks

lbow >casadores > skirms

jinetes>goons>ruyter

guereros=redcoat>halb

i guess port will be reasonable balanced after the patch, at least better balanced then brittish

"such a kind fellow!" ~ ķįŋğ_Ćħŗĩš_ĬĬ