Please login or register

AoW2/SM Scenario Design
Moderated by Swolte, Ziggurat Mason

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Timer giving me grief..
posted 04-16-04 00:48 AM EDT (US)   
i've set up an event where a unit moves onto a shipwreck and is given the option to "rebuild" it. if they choose to rebuild it, i deduct some gold from them and set a timer of 3 days.

now, what's *supposed* to happen is after 3 days, a transport ship is spawned. this isn't happening. if i remove the timer and just spawn the ship based on the Request Reply being "yes", it works fine.

when i set the timer, i trigger it with the Request Reply of "yes". then for my Spawn Unit event, i set the trigger to be the timer. according to the very brief descriptions of the events/triggers/conditions, a timer trigger fires when the specified timer has finished counting down the number of days specified in it's Set Timer event. or at least that's how i interpreted it.

i'm new to AoW2/SM scripting and would appreciate any suggestions. tia!

Replies:
posted 04-16-04 01:42 AM EDT (US)     1 / 6  
As far as I remember timer does not work with "new turn" trigger.
To say the truth there are even more triggers that does not work together with some events. Be patient and spare your time for testing.
posted 04-16-04 07:54 AM EDT (US)     2 / 6  
Try the following:
Choose a boolean flag, we name it B1 here.

In the "Set Timer" event make a logical conjunction in the trigger with "AND NOT B1".

Make an additional event *following* (!) the Set Timer event, namely a "Control Flag" event that sets B1 to "true" with the same trigger condition as of the Set Timer event (except that you leave away the conjuncted B1 condition, of course).

I'm confident it will work!

[This message has been edited by Final Bolt (edited 04-16-2004 @ 07:56 AM).]

posted 04-16-04 10:35 PM EDT (US)     3 / 6  
Webusver, i'm not trying to use a "new turn" trigger...