posted 04-24-20 06:22 AM CT (US)   
Hi!

I will color the important bits, so if you just care about the dos and dont's, skip ahead to colored parts! Red are don'ts, green are dos and blue are some important information if you want to mess around with it more.

I'm very new to scenario design, but I stumbled upon a problem that I haven't found a solution to online. After a lot of testing and digging around I found a solution and wanted to make a post about in case someone wants to do similar things, without the need to do all the reverse engineering I had to do.

1) Ballistics as a Unit Attribute - My Journey

I started out from wanting to be able to reverse technology upgrades within a scenario. For example, I wanted to be able to research forging for a while and then unresearch it. So far, it seems this is impossible directly (please comment if you know about a way to do this), however in most cases you can do a decent workaround - imitate the uprgade by changing the according units and their stats when you want it "researched" and changing them back when you want it "unresearched".

One upgrade of particular interest to me was ballistics, which proved a lot harder to manipulate than anticipated.

Researching ballistics and disabling it afterwards DOES NOT undo its effects.

Archer accuracy, which might be another idea, also affects the ability of a unit to shoot exactly where it wants. It doesn't change where it wants to shoot (i.e. ahead of a moving unit, predicting where the arrow should land, instead of exactly where the unit is at). So changing the accuracy of a unit does not affect ballistics.

That's where Enable Smart Projectiles attribute in Modify Attribute effect comes in. Smart projectiles are exactly those that follow the ballistics curve, rather than shoot directly towards the target's position.

2) Enable Smart Projectiles Effect