You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

AoERoR/Definitive Edition/Return of Rome
Moderated by Suppiluliuma, PhatFish, Fisk, Epd999

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Music of the game - different soundtracks for different games?
posted 11-03-08 01:10 PM ET (US)   
One question that is still unanswered about the original AOE:

Back in my earlier days I used to play AOE at both my friend's house and my house. The thing is, my dad's copy of the game and my friend's copy had completely different soundtracks to them. I still don't understand why that is.

My friend's copy began with the music played on this:
http://www.microsoft.com/games/empires/

Whereas my dad's copy began with this:
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=SjKctPewO7Y

I still don't understand why, in the same country, these versions had completely different tracks. I recently started playing AOE again and couldn't help but wonder.
Replies:
posted 11-03-08 01:15 PM ET (US)     1 / 15  
Because AoE music is in the MIDI format which is interpreted differently from one computer to the next. I got used to hearing it one way for the first three years of playing the game and then when we got a new computer I was shocked to hear totally different music! (I still like it better the other way)

| The Slave Pits (4.8) MMC 1st Place | The Fate of Inraya Teaser (4.5) | The Parting Gift | Computer Wars Pack |
"Never experienced any of his revolutionary scenarios, but dang if he isn't charismatic when he speaks!" -Aro
Voted AoEH's Most Helpful Forumer 2009!

Ninetails, of all the forumers you seen to have the inabillity to feel hate against your fellow man. A noble trait, treasure it. -Gumble

[This message has been edited by Ninetails (edited 11-03-2008 @ 01:19 PM).]

posted 11-03-08 02:11 PM ET (US)     2 / 15