Please login or register

Mod Design and Discussion
Moderated by Sebastien, John the Late

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: How to add SLPs to the Graphics.drs using DRS Explorer
posted 12-19-07 01:24 AM CT (US)   
Since I am probably the only person who knows how to do this, I really should spread my knowledge to all of you guys since nowadays this is my preferred method of adding SLPs to the graphics.drs. And it should be for everybody else, since in contrast to this method, using AoMED is like picking cotton without using a cotton gin.

First off, let me tell all you people that I did not recently come across this method. In fact, it actually has resurfaced in my memory from many years back in '99 when I was a newbie trying to learn how to mod AoE. DRS Explorer is a pretty old-ass program dating back to '98 as it says in the readme. Back in my newbie days, I remember downloading DRS Explorer and messing with it a bit as well as with the old SLP Studio program. Well anyway I remember using SLP Studio to extract an SLP from AoE's graphics.drs, renaming said SLP to a number that is directly after the number of the last SLP in the .drs file, and successfully using DRS Explorer to add the SLP.

And now several years later around two months back when I was working on my expansion and using AoMED to add SLPs, I suddenly remembered that time when I messed with DRS Explorer and thought "hmm, could what I did back then work in AoK and up to this day?" So therefore, I downloaded DRS Explorer and experimented with much success. The SLPs that I imported worked rather well and the process worked like a charm. No more decompiling and recompiling and text editing crap with AoMED for me anymore.

You can download DRS Explorer here.

So now, let me show you how to add SLPs with DRS Explorer. It's rather easy really. But in order to successfully add an SLP with this tool, the SLP has to be named according to a specific format.