You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Bardic Circle - War Stories & AAR forum
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Topic Subject: RTW: DitL - Footsoldier
posted 12-12-09 00:17 AM EDT (US)   
So, being all caught up on The Rise of Prussia AAR, I reinstalled and fired up my RTW disk and immediately jumped as the The House of Julii. I started playing (medium difficulty all around) and I realized how awesome the entire game was. It was like Christmas, I had just as much fun now as I had when I first got the game. So, as a tribute to one of my all time favorites, I will be doing a little mini-series dedicated to RTW. 'DitL' stands for 'Day in the Life’; today I will start with the foot soldier. Yes, the regular grunt. The meat of the army. The backbone of the assault. The tip of the spear. Well... You get the point. So without further ado (SP?) I introduce the foot soldier.

Intro:

This is the story of that average grunt... You know... the nameless, faceless meat shield that, someway or another always ends up swinging the tide. Be it clogging chokepoints, routing the enemy, or protecting those archers, everyone has had a victory that was pulled off completely by the foot soldier. This short story will be the story of one such foot soldier for the Julian Army and his attempt to stay alive while fighting the infamous Gaul, his most hated enemy. But fighting the enemy is not always the biggest challenge, for what of the battles raging inside? What of the political battles being fought on the home turf? Sometimes, the soldier must overcome many obstacles just to have a fighting chance.