Bardic Circle - War Stories & AAR forum
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: Ne Plus Ultra: The Road to Russian Greatness
« Previous Page  1 2  Next Page »
posted 17 December 2007 18:59 EDT (US)   
Foreword: Wow, I never thought I'd be writing an AAR (HSR). After reading many over the years, it just didn't sound very fun to me; that is, until I read Saintheart's Spanish AAR (HSR). It had never occured to me to write it in such a way, and it inspired me to write one of my own. Thank you Saintheart, and I hope you don't mind me doing this. I'm not trying to steal your thunder.

I have set only one rule for myself : No cheating. Other than that, no limits. We'll just see how it plays out.

I have put it to a poll with some friends of mine, and Russia was the winner, so I will be following the Russians in this, my first AAR. I will be playing on Medium/Medium, because I'm not very good at this game. And so, without further ado, I present to you: Ne Plus Ultra!

Ne Plus Ultra

The Road to Russian Greatness

Russia in the late eleventh century was in a state of pure chaos, plagued with violence and turmoil, and lay almost completely barren and largely unclaimed by the Russian Royal Family. Indeed, only one city, the grand city of Novgorod, lay within Grand Duke Ysevolod’s - the rightful ruler of Russia - territory. And under Ysevolod’s rule Novgorod and the surrounding areas prospered and Ysevolod was able to unify much of northern Russia under his banner. The rise and subsequent fall of Grand Duke Ysevolod is perhaps the single most important event in the history of medieval Russia. Through his acts of courage and selflessness he inspired the populace, and took the first step on the road to Russian greatness.

Chapter One: The Expansionist Era Part One (1080 - 1088)